In today’s world, Xanax is not necessarily a difficult substance to come by. Popular media is full of jokes made about the relaxing effects that it can have on users. This can cloud many people's understanding of the legality of the drug, leading to serious consequences for those caught taking it without a prescription. Our Christian drug rehab explores the penalty for getting caught with Xanax.
The state of Florida classifies Xanax as a Schedule IV drug. These are substances considered to have a low potential for dependence and, therefore, a lower risk of abuse. However, this does not mean that illegally possessing them is permitted. Xanax is a member of the drug group known as benzodiazepines. It is not illegal but is classified as a controlled substance by the United States. This means that possession of the substance without the necessary prescription can result in serious legal trouble for the user.
There is a penalty for getting caught with Xanax if someone has this drug in their possession, but it is not prescribed to them. The penalties are rarely worth the relaxation. Possession of Xanax in Florida is a third-degree felony that can lead to:
It is worth noting that there are different versions of what it means to be in possession of Xanax. “Actual possession” is when the user has the drug with them on their person. “Constructive possession” is when the drug is considered to be within the user’s domain or an area they have complete control over. That means if an officer discovers the drug in their room or storage, the owner will still be charged with possession.
If you are caught with even one bar of Xanax without a prescription, you may be convicted and punished with the penalties discussed. If a large quantity of the substance is discovered, “possession with intent to sell” could be the charge and bring even more serious punishments.
For a charge to be given the classification of “intent to distribute,” the user would need to be in possession of between 5 to 99 doses. Being accused of trafficking Xanax can lead to even more devastating penalties. While guidelines of the Federal Controlled Substance Act suggest the same prison sentence of 5 years, first-time offenders may face fines between the amounts of $250,000 and $1,000,000. Regardless of if the possession is because of an addiction, or even holding them for a friend, if they are found and can be unequivocally connected to you, you can get in trouble.
Legal troubles often serve as the wake-up call many need to realize their dependence is a problem. Taking Xanax may seem like a harmless way to manage a lack of sleep, but the risk of possessing the drug without a prescription will never outweigh its relaxing effects. If you have reached a point of reckoning in your life and feel strongly about the impact that faith can have on your care, our Christ-centered addiction treatment is a great option.